Donate To Keep The Site Ad Free
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Book Collection : SystemCrashOverRide

Citizen of Gilead SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide is a name known to all SystemCrashOverRide's Avatar

Country
    Country Flag

Default Book Collection : SystemCrashOverRide

So I'm new to the world of more "serious" collecting. I've been a King fan for about a decade and over the years (like many, I'm sure) my collection began with soft covers and has shifted towards more serious collectors territory. The first King I read was a copy of Christine. I devoured it, and to this day it may be my favorite. I've read many better King novels, but it's nigh impossible to recapture the feeling you have as a young teenager being exposed to something you love for the very first time.

So the collection started with any and all copies I could find, specifically soft covers, I did not enjoy the feel of a bulky hard cover in my hands. My how things have changed. Once I had all of the regular print books, it started to look good on a shelf and I thought to myself..."You know, hard covers would probably look a lot nicer than all those beat up paperbacks". That was that, I made a full shift to hardcovers.

Then it was trying to get firsts. Now, it's trying to get gifts and S/L editions. Most of my hard covers aren't firsts yet, but I'm working on that, and I've lucked into some neat items over the years.

Got into Joe Hill fairly early, after he'd only published 20th Century Ghosts and Heart Shaped Box. Met him for a signing in Toronto, and then I got on the Owen King bandwagon more recently with his publication of Double Feature. I've chatted with him via twitter and even received mail from Owen on one occasion.