PDA

View Full Version : Lord of the Rings

Spencer
12-01-2007, 08:15 AM
For all things Middle Earth. Great story, and I love it, but I'm not sure I understand the all encompassing fascination that many have with it. Discuss that, favorite moments, greater themes, how the movies compared to the books, whatever you like.

Matt
12-01-2007, 01:38 PM
I used to drive for a living and the first time I was exposed to the story, I listened to it unabridged on tape. I had known of the Hobbit of course, but it was totally new for me.

The Ring itself is the main thing for me I believe. How poor little Froto has to carry it on that impossible mission. Its like, when you first hear what he has to do you're all..."oh no, that's impossible. Can't be done" :lol:

I've read it again since then but I broke down on two occasions where it seemed like Froto and one of the others was dead. I was horribly confused in many places about who was who and what was what. The weird part about that is the movies really helped to clarify a bunch of that shit for me.

Like saying it to a 6 year old. :cyclops:

Spencer
12-01-2007, 01:46 PM
I was horribly confused in many places about who was who and what was what.

Me too. I had no clue where folks were or if we were going in chronological order, or jumping back and forth in time, especially in The Two Towers book. Also, calling two main characters Sauron and Saruman led to many near anneurysms. :lol:

Matt
12-01-2007, 01:49 PM
:lol:

Y'know...I had that same problem.

Spencer
12-01-2007, 01:50 PM
and damn if I STILL can't figure out the relationship and/or history between Gandalf and Saruman.

Telynn
12-01-2007, 03:57 PM
Gandalf and Sauraman were the same beings. They were a group of beings sent from the west to deal with Sauron. I think they were maiar, but not sure on that. If you read The Similarillian, you will either get all the history or get REAL confused. I ended up with a little of both, but it has been a while since I read it.

She-Oy