PDA

View Full Version : Child Fund (or those less fortunate)

Merlin1958
09-06-2010, 03:13 PM
Not sure if this is appropriate for here, but I thought I would share anyway and TPTB can do as they see fit.

I have been supporting a child (and his family) in Uganda for the last 4 years through "Child Fund" (formerly "Christian Charities") and I have to say it has been a most rewarding (for both families) relationship and I would HIGHLY recommend it to others.

A year or two ago, I went through a "Health Crisis" that involved a lot of stuff. I was diagnosed with Diabetes and lost part of my foot as a result and underwent Chemo. I came out the other side fine, but during my convalescence I watched a crap-load of TV. One late evening I saw the TV spot and succumbed. I have to tell you all that it has been one of the best decisions that I have ever made.

I support a child named, Ivan Okatange, in Uganda for $30 a month. His whole family of 8 gets to eat off of that money and I have sent Soccer balls, Seeds, gardening tools and "Yankee" garb over there, as well as a host of other things. I now am a "Rancher" as for $200 they have bought 3 cows named "Yogi", "Scooter" and "Bossy" for former Yankee greats. Through correspondence I have gotten them to "follow" the Yankees, even though they have no idea what I'm talking about despite a lot of material I sent over.

The point being, while it definitely helped me get through my health crisis, it has continued to be a very, very, very rewarding relationship and one that I would heavily endorse and recommend to others. I chose to make the Yankees a highlight of that relationship, but others can do as they like. What I do know is that I very much look forward to hearing from them and the state of their affairs and the knowledge that I am, however much in the least, affecting the world as a place to live in.

Go check it out and if you were on the fence, fall off to the side of helping. You will not regret it, that I can guaranty.