PDA

View Full Version : How long have you been collecting?

Matt
06-17-2007, 05:09 PM
Just wondering how long each of you has been collecting. :D

Randall Flagg
06-17-2007, 05:28 PM
Matt,
there is no choice for all of the above.:thumbsup:
Also, length of time collecting and frequency of collecting are two different issues.
P.S. possible poll selection choices:
<5 Years
5-10 Years
11-20 Years
21-30 Years
30+ Years

jhanic
06-17-2007, 05:54 PM
I started collecting science fiction and fantasy back about 1960 (before I graduated high school). I decided that I would like to own EVERY sf and fantasy book out there. I finally decided that was ridiculous, but before June of last year, I had somewhere between 50,000 and 60,000 books, magazines, pulps and paperbacks in my collection. On June 22, 2006, while my wife and I were away on vacation, we had a very violent storm and my basement, where the vast majority of my collection was located, ended up with about 8" of water. This damaged more than half my collection. Luckily, my King collection, some very valuable pulp magazines (Weird Tales from 1926-1953) were upstairs and never touched. I am currently in the process of selling most of the remainder (except King and a few other items) via consignment.

If you meant when I started collecting King, I first was attracted to him when the paperback of The Shining came out. My first hardcover that I bought of his was Firestarter. I now have more than 375 King books (not including anthologies with King stories, magazine, etc., just King books) in my collection.

John

Matt
06-17-2007, 06:40 PM
Matt,
there is no choice for all of the above.:thumbsup:
Also, length of time collecting and frequency of collecting are two different issues.
P.S. possible poll selection choices:
<5 Years
5-10 Years
11-20 Years
21-30 Years
30+ Years

I love those ideas Jerome. I was setting it up as a test for what I was doing and couldn't think of anything :lol: