PDA

View Full Version : The Neil Gaiman thread

fernandito
05-23-2007, 09:57 PM
Well, as many of you know, and for those who don't, I have an unhealthy obsession with Neil Geiman's comics graphic novel series, The Sandman. :pirate: This thread is for general discussion of the series as a whole.

The following question is for those who've read the entire series (or if you decided to skip ahead and read volume 10 before finishing the other ones, cheater!):

If Morpheus had chosen Daniel from the beginning to be the next [aspect of the] Sandman, what do you think Morpheus did in his 'previous' life?

Still Servant
05-24-2007, 09:32 PM
How's it going feev? I was wondering if you (or anybody else for that matter) could give me a little info about the Sandman series.

I'm new to the graphic novel world and when I ask somebody to recommend a series they all say Sandman. I've thumbed through a couple books and the art seems to be a little more harsh than other books.

My question is, what is the series about? What makes it great? I've never read anything by Gaiman. Should I start with one of his novels? Lastly, what is the meaning of life?

Anyway, I'm reading Y: The Last Man series right now and I'm looking for something else to get into once I'm done with that.

Thanks.

OchrisO
05-24-2007, 09:37 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sandman_%28Vertigo%29

This wikipedia article gives some stuff on it. There may be some spoilers in it, so read carefully. People generally mark spoilers on wikipedia, though.

It is hard to say why it is so good. Gaiman is just amazing in everything he does. He is my favorite writer by far in both novels and comics. He started with the comics, so reading his novels first won't hurt, but it won't help either, really. The Sandman is very enriched and interwoven with mythology and magic, and the story is just amazing overall.

Erin
05-25-2007, 12:02 AM