PDA

View Full Version : Writing with an outline?

Ves'Ka Gan
05-29-2008, 10:34 PM
Hi. I'm a newbie here, but I couldn't help but jump in the writers' section.

I am currently starting a story that is very unlike anything I have undertaken before. I've never been good at writing sci-fi or horror (although I love reading it) but an idea came to me I couldn't put away. In many ways it isn't sci-fi at all, but the idea of writing something so far and away from what I normally write has got me a little anxious.

I was wondering how many of you use outlines, and if so--how much detail/effort do you put into them?

I tend to write very organically, letting the story spill out however it may, but I am thinking that may not work with this one...

Frunobulax
05-29-2008, 10:37 PM
I personally only outline very broad plot points or chapter ideas. Otherwise, it's all from the mind as it comes and goes.

Steve
05-29-2008, 11:05 PM
I tend to write very much like Fruno described... except in the case of a novel I've begun, an experiment into historical metafiction about the Civil War. That ditty's mapped out like Rand-McNally.

OchrisO
05-30-2008, 02:52 AM
I usually only use outlines for academic writing, and then opnly rarely. I do however make a bunch of notes about characters, their mannerisms and appearances. I will occasionally jot down stuff about where I want the story to go, or how it will progress if something hits me, but I can't think of any time I have written a fiction work from an outline. Different things work for different people, though. Give it a shot, it may help you, if nothing else, to lessen the anxiety.

cozener
05-30-2008, 04:54 AM