PDA

View Full Version : The Worlds Greatest Drummer

ATG
02-01-2008, 10:27 PM
The favorite music video thread got me thinking about Rush, the Greatest Band To Ever Walk The Earth.

While Neil Peart is generally considered to be the greatest living drummer, there are three videos presented, and i ask you to vote from these three to select The Worlds Greatest Drummer

1. Buddy Rich

This guy was a freak of nature. His speed was unlike anything before or after.
YouTube - drum solo by buddy rich (1970)

2. Neil Peart

In this video he pays tribute to buddy Rich, he gets my vote as The Worlds Greatest Drummer.
YouTube - Neil Peart drum solo (Buddy Rich Memorial concert)

3. Stevie Wonder

If you have never seen this before, behold the Wonder that is Stevie. He is/was a amazing musical force. I am a drummer as well, and this is one of the greatest drum solos ever.

YouTube - Stevie Wonder Drum Solo

Letti
02-01-2008, 11:30 PM
Wow. He is the drum.

jayson
02-02-2008, 04:33 AM
A) +1 for Stevie. He is the most under-rated drummer bc nobody ever mentions him. On the Jimi Hendrix BBC cd, Jimi does a brief cover of Stevie's "I Was Made to Love Her" with Stevie on drums. AMAZING!

B) Buddy Rich is awesome, but Max Roach, Elvin Jones, and especially Tony Williams could drum circles around him.

C) Peart is very good, but a bit over-rated for rock drummers. Personally I'd take Ginger Baker over him in a heartbeat.

Now, as for my real answer to the question, and only Frunobulax will prob know who I am talking about, but the greatest living drummer is Joey Baron, who is the default drummer for all of John Zorn's projects. Anyone who can be the timekeeper for a band like Naked City who changes genres at the drop of a hat will get my vote every time.

alinda
02-02-2008, 05:11 AM
I am:blush: ?

Mattrick
02-02-2008, 07:24 AM
Niel Peart, I could be mistaken on who it was, has a problem with his brain in which actually helps him keep beats.