PDA

View Full Version : The Bazaar of Bad Dreams: New short story collection (11/03/15)

Pages : [1] 2

herbertwest
06-13-2014, 06:46 AM
"Dear Constant Reader,
Mr. Mercedes is the first volume of a projected trilogy concerning Bill Hodges, his friends…and his enemies. The second volume, Finders Keepers, is finished (in first draft, at least) and will be published in the first half of 2015, perhaps followed by a book of new stories in the fall (or not). Anyway, these three novels seem to revolve around the City Center Massacre that opens Mr. Mercedes. Because of that, I wanted to post a complete list of those killed and injured in Brady Hartsfield’s attack. Some of these unfortunates have other parts to play. As always, I’m glad you’re along for the ride, but be warned: there are some sharp turns ahead, and I’m a really crazy driver."

>>>> http://stephenking.com/promo/mr_mercedes/letter-from-stephen-and-the-toll.html

Meaning : a new collection of short stories?

Bev Vincent
06-13-2014, 06:47 AM
You could read it that way -- or as a "book of new stories," like Full Dark, No Stars was.

mae
06-13-2014, 06:51 AM
Could be interpreted either way. It's a bit vague, so it could indeed mean a new short fiction collection as I have predicted earlier: http://www.thedarktower.org/palaver/showthread.php?18202 or he could be referring to the third book in the trilogy. From the sentence structure he says "Mr. Mercedes is the first volume of a projected trilogy concerning Bill Hodges, his friends…and his enemies. The second volume, Finders Keepers, is finished (in first draft, at least) and will be published in the first half of 2015, perhaps followed by a book of new stories in the fall (or not)." I dunno.

herbertwest
06-13-2014, 07:19 AM
Na, my understanding is that the new stories he mentions can only be 2 things :
- or a collection of short stories
- or a collection of novellas (as Bev says)