PDA

View Full Version : Was the tower ever under threat ? :spoilers:

Colton Grech Micallef
03-15-2011, 03:15 PM
Hi everybody I'm new here so I may be a little inexperienced. I have had this question since I read the books,

For the tower ( or gan ) to send Roland back repeatedly for him to reach it makes me wonder whether it was ever under real threat from the destruction of the beams. If Roland's journey had already happened the first time through - Which the last book suggests that it had been done many times repeatably - Is it knowingly putting itself at risk again by risking the destruction of the beams ? Or all of this was prevented the first time Roland journeyed to the dark tower and all consecutive Journeys were all just repetitions or perhaps figments of roland's imagination ?.

I hope this is understandable and please bear with me as this is my first attempt and english is not my first language :):)

flaggwalkstheline
03-15-2011, 03:34 PM
it's my understanding that yes the tower was under threat from the CK and his breakers

as far as the loop goes, there are quite a few ideas about it, i think that roland's quests are as much about saving himself as they are about the tower, even if he doesn't know it

Colton Grech Micallef
03-15-2011, 04:27 PM
That is also my understanding but I think it was only under risk the first time through. Otherwise why would the tower endanger itself after it's beams were saved ?

candy
03-16-2011, 02:52 AM
For me - and this is a purely personal interpretation

The Tower and Roland are linked and until Roland can redeem himself the Tower will always be in danger, therefore it has to take a gamble to send him back each time to save them both