PDA

View Full Version : What to read after Wolves of the Call if haven't read other supporting books yet?

relativistic
06-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Stephen King, DT being the first books of his I read. I didn't realize just how related everything is!

Anyways, I'm about halfway through Wlves of the Calla. Clearly I should have read Salem's lot first. Too late. Looking on the net, it seems I should have also read IT, The Stand, and a few others...

I would like to avoid missing out on other (major) connections, or having any other good books spoiled, like I feel Salem's Lot slightly was. However, I also don't want to loose more momentum than I need to at this point. With those (admittedly vague) goals, does anyone have any recommendations on what I really should read before continuing the series.

I guess I'm most interested in story threads that are introduced outside DT but are resolved inside it. Callahan is the obvious example to this. I feel like with him I'm reading the end of a story before reading the begining.

Thankya very much!

John_and_Yoko
06-06-2010, 03:01 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Stephen King, DT being the first books of his I read. I didn't realize just how related everything is!

Anyways, I'm about halfway through Wlves of the Calla. Clearly I should have read Salem's lot first. Too late. Looking on the net, it seems I should have also read IT, The Stand, and a few others...

I would like to avoid missing out on other (major) connections, or having any other good books spoiled, like I feel Salem's Lot slightly was. However, I also don't want to loose more momentum than I need to at this point. With those (admittedly vague) goals, does anyone have any recommendations on what I really should read before continuing the series.